« Crossroads of Speech and Language »

General Information

Official Language

The official language of the conference is English.

Time Zone

Austria is in the Central European Summer Time (CEST), which is two hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT+2).

Local Currency

Austria has the euro (EUR, €) as its sole currency along with 24 other countries that use this common European currency. These 24 countries are: Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain (official euro members which are all European Union member states) as well as Andorra, Kosovo, Monaco, Montenegro, San Marino, and the Vatican which use it without having a say in Eurozone affairs and without being European Union members. One euro is divided into 100 cents. While each official euro member (as well as Monaco, San Marino and Vatican) issues its own coins with a unique obverse, the reverse, as well as all bank notes, look the same throughout the Eurozone. Every coin is legal tender in any of the Eurozone countries.

Name Badge

Please wear your conference name badge at all times. Access will not be granted without it.


In Austria the electrical voltage used is 220/230V.